George lane (Date Unknown)
Bredbury, St. Mark (C of E). A separate parish from
1846. Registers of baptisms 1847-1966, marriages 1849-1992 and burials
1848-1990 are at the CRO. Memorial inscriptions for part of the churchyard
have been published by the North Cheshire FHS
Woodley United Reformed
Bredbury Parish Hall
- A township in Stockport Parish, Macclesfield Hundred (SJ 9291). In
1902 the civil parish was extended to include part of
and in 1936 Bredbury was incorporated into Bredbury & Romiley civil
- Included the hamlets of Butterhouse Green, Castle Hall, Hatherlow and
- Bredbury & Romiley is a civil parish created in 1936 from
civil parishes. In 1952 the Brinnington area was transferred to
civil parish. The population was 17818 in 1951, and the area was
transferred to the county of Greater Manchester in 1974.
- The population of Bredbury was 1358 in 1801, 2991 in 1851, 4691 in
1901 and 7154 in 1931.
The Location of Stockport
Stockport grew up as a defensive site
with the original castle, market place and church being on hill top
location with steep slopes. The red sandstone on which Stockport's
market is situated overlooked and guarded an important ford over the
River Mersey. It can also be viewed as a trade route as Stockport is
situated at the point at which the rivers Tame and Goyt merge to become
the River Mersey. Stockport therefore thrived as its site was at the
convergence of trade routes. The fact that Stockport was close to a ford
over the River Mersey helped the growth into a town.
History of Stockport
After the Romans left, the Saxon's built
a village on the same site and named it 'Stockport'. Stockport gained
municipal borough status in 1835, county borough status in 1889 and the
Metropolitan Borough of Stockport was formed in 1974. Power from the
local rivers enabled Stockport to become one of the country's first and
most important industrial towns. At the beginning of the 18th Century,
Stockport was a picturesque market town housing 2,000 residents.
Stockport was the location for one of Britain's first mechanical silk
mills in 1732. By 1760, there were 7 mills employing 2,000 people.
Cotton spinning and hat manufacturing became the main industries in
Stockport. The scars of the industrial revolution remain clearly visible
in Stockport in the form of derelict factories.
History of Stockport
In the rebellion of 1172, Stockport's Norman Castle was
defended against the forces of King Henry II. By the 14th Century the castle
was maintained by the de Spencers on behalf of Edward II. After this period
the castle was neglected for a number of years and fell into disrepair, it
was during this time that the now famous market was established on the site.
The market quickly developed a fine reputation for the quality of its cheese
and for centuries, Stockport market continued to be regarded as an important
In 1615 it was noted that "it is a great market and much
frequented by dwellers far remote". During the 18th Century Sir George
Warren, Lord of the Manor of Stockport, razed the site to the ground and
built a two storey, turreted, circular brick building with the intention of
manufacturing muslin. He was unsuccessful in this venture and the building
became an Inn. Photo: The Chiming Clocks
In 1220, the sixth Earl of Chester, Randle III, granted
the Charter of Freedom of Stockport to Sir Rupert de Stokeport . The oldest
known copy of the charter (1530) is situated in the Stockport Museum. The
Charter granted the people the right to hold a weekly market, annual fair
and to elect a Mayor. It also formed the backbone of a strong local
Government for 600 years. Prior to becoming a borough (under the Municipal
Corporation Act of 1835) the governing body of Stockport was the Court Leet.
The administration of the Court Leet covered a variety of crimes and
misdemeanours, ranging from public nuisances and offences against the peace,
to eavesdropping! The Lord of the Manor appointed a Steward to preside over
the court and was assisted by a jury of burgesses (people who possess a
freehold). The burgesses held the posts of Mayor, Alderman and officers of
the court, responsible for appointing 'market lookers' for weights,
measures, fish and flesh, 'appraisers' to value goods, tax assessors,
collectors of tolls, 'burleymen' to ensure that fences and hedges were in
good order and that herds were secure, a 'dog muzzler', scavengers whose job
was to ensure that streets were cleaned weekly by the inhabitants and 'alefounders'
to check that wholesome products were made by bakers and brewers.
The court was held in a cellar near the 'old dungeon'.
Punishments metered out by the court included the scolds bridle or brank,
the ducking stool, the pillory, stocks and whipping post. The Stockport
Brank, used to punish female gossips, is unique and can be found in
Stockport Museum. Years later the brank ceased to be used but was simply
hung outside the market office - as a warning to gossips! The market place
was the favoured place for the pillory. The stocks were placed outside the
church gates and the whipping post situated in the market centre.
Unfortunately, the crowds attracted to the public floggings disrupted
business to such an extent that it had to be moved. It should be noted that
according to local folklore, Stockport market was the last location in
England where a wife was known to be sold!